Architectural Foundation of Santa Barbara

High School Design Competition

High School Design Competition

What It's All About

Every spring, there is an all-day design competition fashioned after the Architects Learning Exam held for Santa Barbara County High School Students. This program, started in 1991, introduces high school students to the world of architecture and the design process, through the frame of a fun learning experience.

This year, the 2024 High School Design Competition took place on Tuesday, February 27th at two different Charrette locations. The North County Charrette was held at Allan Hancock College and the South County Charrette was held at Direct Relief. 

Twelve Finalists were selected and presented before a panel of three Jurors on Saturday, March 2nd. The Juried Review was held at the Elverhoj Museum in Solvang.

Congratulations to all who participated in the Charrette and Juried Review.

More about this exciting competition can be found in the Program Resource Information materials below.

If you would like to request an informational presentation to learn more about this competition, please contact AFSB.

High School Design Competition 2024

Top 5 Place Winners

1st Place: Quinn Gleason, a junior at Dos Pueblos High School

2nd Place: Hailey Salas, a senior at Orcutt Academy

3rd Place: Ella Peterson, a senior at Orcutt Academy

Honorable Mention: Rafaela Fay, a sophmore at Bishop Garcia Diego High School

Honorable Mention: Riley Watkins, a junior at Cabrillo High School

Pictured below (L to R)

Rafaela Fay, Alin Ramirez Alda, Jarell White, Riley Watkins, Bryan Garcia, Rylan Schaller, Makenzie McKibben, Quinn Gleason, Elina Lopez Garza

Not Pictured: Hailey Salas, Ella Patterson, Braeden Rappozo



High School Design Competition 2023

Top 6 Place Winners

1st Place: Ellie Gleason, a senior at Dos Pueblos High School

2nd Place: Ava Warmath, a senior at Dos Pueblos High School

3rd Place: Quinn Gleason, a sophmore at Dos Pueblos High School

Honorable Mention: Hailey Salas, a junior at Orcutt Academy

Honorable Mention: Kiersi Court, a sophmore at Providence High School

Honorable Mention: Rylan Schaller, a sophmore at Cabrillo High School

Pictured below (L to R)
Kiersi Court, Quinn Gleason, Ellie Gleason, Hailey Salas, Ava Warmath, Rylan Schaller

Finalists (L to R)

Quinn Gleason, Clancy Reagan, Ellie Gleason, Kiersi Court, Annie Heckerm Benjamin Barthel, Rylan Schaller, Hailey Salas, Ava Warmath (not pictured Braeden Rappozo, Lizzette Carlos and Christina Cantu)

Jurors Cass Ensberg, Susanne Tejada, Rosa Alvarado and Saad Sadig with Finalists.

High School Design Competition 2022

Top 5 Place Winners

*names match from left to right*

Ellie Gleason, a junior at Dos Pueblos High, won first place.

Clancy Reagan, a junior at San Marcos High, won second place.

Olivia Doman, a senior from Olive Grove Charter School, won third place.

Jack Van Thyne, a senior at San Marcos High, was awarded Honorable Mention.

Ava Warmath, a junior at Dos Pueblos High, was awarded Honorable Mention.

Design From Home 2021: Finalists & Designs

Video Tutorials

What Is Design?

The Introductions

From Program Challenges to Design Solutions

The Plot Plan

The Floor Plan


Additional Drawings